Oppenheimer

Oppenheimer

Score: 7.37 / 10

Release Date: February 16, 2024
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Charles Roven, Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Cillian Murphy, Emily Blunt, Robert Downey Jr., Matt Damon, Rami Malek, Florence Pugh, Benny Safdie, Michael Angarano, Josh Hartnett, Kenneth Branagh, Dane DeHaan, Dylan Arnold, David Krumholtz, Alden Ehrenreich, Matthew Modine
Rating: G
Genre: Biography
Running Time: 180 minutes

Write a Review


Oppenheimer movie reviews

  • 6

    Oppenheimer

    Wednesday, August 16, 2023 6:58:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Way too much hype about this movie and unnecessarily too long. This most certainly IS NOT a date movie. I would not punish my date with it. Way, way too much dialogue/historical background, unnecessary gratuitous nude scenes, his communist friends, and certainly not enough given to the real problems the scientists faced out in New Mexico. The documentaries on Youtube should be seen beforehand. There was little tension I felt to the prelude to the ramifications of the explosion and then the big bang was over. I thought to myself "that's it? Certainly will not see this again. I have better things to do with my time.

  • 10

    Oppenheimer

    Wednesday, August 16, 2023 1:28:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    i give florence pugh two thumbs up, waaaaaaaaaaaaay up

  • 5

    Oppenheimer

    Wednesday, August 16, 2023 11:05:53 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I would have rated it higher, but the sex scenes with that nudity took me out of the movie and all I felt was embarrassment for the actors.

  • 2

    Oppenheimer

    Tuesday, August 15, 2023 6:36:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Movie jumped around too much and the sex scenes were vulgar and unnecessary to the story line....They just cheapened the movie... I'm not a prude, but the sex was in very bad taste.

  • 5

    Oppenheimer

    Monday, August 14, 2023 6:04:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The acting was the best part of the movie. Too loud when he had an A-bomb moment. zigzagging around with actors and scenes made it had to follow. I had to watch the documentaryt on youtube to figure what chess piece the actors were playing. Not my favorite movie.

  • 9

    Oppenheimer

    Monday, August 14, 2023 1:20:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent cast; captured a truly crucial chapter in 20th century American, and world, history; writing, cast and period backgrounds crucially spot-on; should be required viewing (with concomitant extensive reading list) for everyone.

  • 3

    Oppenheimer

    Monday, August 14, 2023 1:12:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Just how lacking in invention Nolan's movie actually is, one has only to view the PBS documentary, THE TRIALS OF J. ROBERT OPPENHEIMER, which tells in linear fashion, without all jigsaw jerkiness, the explosions and deafening so-called music, the basic story, ending with the recitation of an Oppenheimer poem of lucid beauty.

  • 7

    Oppenheimer

    Sunday, August 13, 2023 4:43:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Interesting, historical, and biographical not family friendly but good for parents

  • 9

    Oppenheimer

    Sunday, August 13, 2023 12:49:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was good fun.

  • 7

    Oppenheimer

    Sunday, August 13, 2023 7:59:20 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is a good movie. However, having a fundamental understanding of the events depicted is a prerequisite to remaining interested. It is long but it basically covers three stories with an outcome somewhat like the Wizard of Oz. The cast is great. Yes, there is loudness. There is some nudity and foul language. All are necessary for the character arc. They cleverly avoid overt biases regarding the political philosophies portrayed but do seem to resort to the usual douchebag “capitalist” caricature of the villain. They ironically do not focus on the bomb itself and don’t pull up the usual stock footage of the Trinity and Bikini tests to dazzle you. In fact, they seem to avoid useless visual effects except where they demonstrate a metaphor for the emotional and morale destruction that is suggested. The only thing I came away with was a question. Why did they make this now?